[ONLINE] - Launching a #DigitalDecade to Strengthen Public Institutions

Join Us As We Build a New Generation of Digital Public Goods to Power Governments Worldwide

Join the conversation using #digitaldecade and follow us @DIGI_NewAmerica.

On September 18 on the margins of the UN General Assembly, New America will convene a landmark event for the emerging field of digital public goods. Heads of state and government, multilateral organizations, civil society leaders, technologists, and some of the world’s largest funders will come together with the goal of launching a decade of work to develop open digital platforms for the public sector. The event will examine models, mechanisms, and architecture necessary to advance the use of digital public goods to build more effective institutions.

The event will open with remarks from New America CEO Anne-Marie Slaughter and heads of government followed by a plenary session with leading technologists, philanthropists, and digital government practitioners. The session will conclude with a digital roundtable during which participants will negotiate a joint declaration launching a Decade of Digital Public Goods for Effective Institutions.


High Level Speakers

Plenary Speakers

  • Rodger Voorhies, President, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation @rodger_voorhies
  • Audrey Tang, Digital Minister, Taiwan @audreyt
  • Jim Zemlin, Executive Director, Linux Foundation @jzemlin
  • Rohini Nilekani, Founder-Chairperson, Arghyam @arghyamindia
  • Reid Hoffman, Founder, LinkedIn; Board Member, New America @reidhoffman
  • CV Madhukar, Investment Partner, Omidyar Network @cvmadhukar
  • Joe Powell, Deputy CEO, Open Government Partnership @josephpowell
  • Dr. Gavin Hayman, Executive Director, Open Contracting Partnership @GavinHayman_GW
  • Thomas E. Garrett, Secretary General, Community of Democracies @ThomasEGarrett
  • Zia Khan, Senior Vice President, Rockefeller Foundation @ZiaKhanNYC

Digital Roundtable

  • Dakota Gruener, Executive Director, ID2020 @dakotagruener
  • Paula Hunter, Executive Director, Mojaloop Foundation @hunterpaulam
  • David Sengeh, Chief Innovation Officer, Minister of Basic and Senior Secondary Education, Sierra Leone @dsengeh
  • Cori Zarek, Director of Data + Digital, Beeck Center for Social Impact + Innovation @corizarek
  • Doug Rutzen, CEO, International Center for Not-for-Profit Law @doug_rutzen
  • Tanuj Bhojwani, Fellow, iSPIRT @tanujb
  • Dr. S. Rajagopalan, MOSIP
  • Sheila Warren, Executive Committee, World Economic Forum @sheila_warren
  • Lisa Witter, Co-Founder, Apolitical @lisamwitter
  • Sunita Grote, Office of Innovation, UNICEF @sunitagrote